You probably know by now that smoking can kill you. But even if you
didn't care about that (!), did you know that smoking burns quite
a hole in your wallet,
You might start out smoking just a couple of cigarettes
a day, but it can quickly turn into a pack-a-day habit. If you smoke a
pack a day, and a pack costs $6.50, look at how much you'll spend:
|Pack a Day
||You Could Have Bought
100 movie tickets,
a trip to a concert in New York,
and a leather coat
a trip to Cancun,
and a large-screen TV, a DVD player and 300 DVD movies
a fully loaded SUV, OR
a diamond engagement ring and a down payment on a house
ways smoking can cost you money:
It could cost you a sports scholarship. Smoking can wreck lungs and
reduce oxygen available for muscles used during sports. Smokers run
slower and can't
run as far.
It will make you pay more for life insurance or health insurance.
You may not care about that now, but you will later.
It can cost you money for holes you burn in your clothing or furniture
and for cleaning to get the smell out of your car.
But wait--there's more!
Smoking Can Kill Your Looks...
Smoking causes wrinkles, stains teeth, turns fingernails yellow, causes industrial-strength
bad breath and makes your hair and clothes stink.
It Can Make You Sick and Die...
Smoking is major or contributing
cause of cancer of the lung, larynx, oral cavity, bladder, pancreas,
uterus, cervix, kidney
is a known cause of emphysema and chronic bronchitis. Smoking increases
of heart attack and stroke. Smoking can lead to impotence and infertility
More than 2,000 kids become regular smokers each day. One
third of them will
die prematurely from a tobacco-related disease.
U. S. Centers for Disease
Control and Prevention
...And You Can
It is against the law for anyone under 18 to use or possess cigarettes in Maryland,
no matter whether received as a gift or bought from a
store or over the Internet. It is also illegal to use a fake ID to obtain tobacco.
If police cite a minor under for violating these
laws, the minor may be:
Trying to buy cigarettes over the Internet can get you into trouble: Under
Maryland law it is a crime to sell cigarettes over the Internet, by phone
or by mail directly to consumers of any
age. If you obtain cigarettes in this manner, the cigarettes can
as contraband, you could be liable for unpaid state cigarettes
taxes of $20 per carton and you could be subject to criminal prosecution
for possessing unstamped cigarettes. Also, federal
law requires out-of-state cigarette sellers to notify state taxing
authorities of the names and addresses of all purchasers of cigarettes.
- Referred to a smoking cessation clinic;
- Hit with a civil fine of up to $25 for the first violation and
a civil fine of up to $100 for a second or subsequent violation;
- Assigned to a supervised work program for not more than 20 hours for
the first violation and not more than 40 hours for a second or subsequent
For more info on the risks of smoking, see www.tobaccofreekids.org
Try the University of Maryland
Medicine's "Cost of Smoking Calculator"