Information for Warrantors of Vehicle Protection Products
Consumer Protection Division
Office of the Attorney General
200 Saint Paul Place
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
What is it?
This Act requires warrantors of vehicle protection products sold
or offered for sale in Maryland to register with the Division.
What is a vehicle protection product?
vehicle protection product is a product designed to prevent or
deter auto theft.
Maryland Code Ann., Com. Law §14-4A-01(e)(2)
includes (but does not limit) the following as Vehicle Protection
body part marking product
window etch product
pedal or ignition lock
fuel ignition kill switch;
electronic, radio, satellite tracking device
What must a business do to register?
warrantor can Register Online and pay the registration fee of
$500 by Visa, Mastercard, check, or money order.
a warrantor can Register By Mail by completing all required
forms and mailing them along
with a check or money order to the
Vehicle Protection Product Warranty Registration Unit.
warrantor must complete the Maryland Vehicle Protection Warrantor
pay a $500
registration fee, and submit
documents to support proof of ability to pay
claims by either certifying that either it or its parent company
is worth at least
The business may submit records from filings
the Securities and Exchange Commission or an audited financial
to satisfy this requirement. In lieu of SEC filings
or audited financial
a business may submit a copy of an insurance
policy known as a Warranty Liability Reimbursement Policy.
What is the due date for registration?
warrantor must register before providing Vehicle Protection Product
Warranties in Maryland and renew the registration no later than
January 1 of each year.
What is the cost for registration?
fee for registration is $500.00. Checks should be made payable
to “Office of the Attorney General.”
Are there any mandatory disclosures that a business must make
to the consumer to comply with the law?
Yes, a warranty for a vehicle protection product must include
certain provisions and mandatory language. Additionally, sellers
of vehicle protection products that come with a warranty are required
to provide purchasers with a copy of the warranty. Please review
attachments A and B for details.
For additional information, please contact the Vehicle Protection
Product Warranty Registration Unit at (410) 576-6350, or send an
e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org