Banner: Maryland Attorney General Douglas F. Gansler
  Home | Protecting Consumers | Safeguarding Children | Seniors | Law Enforcement | Site Map Search
 
For Immediate Release
July 26, 2006
Media Contact:
Kevin Enright 410-576-6357

ATTORNEY GENERAL’S OFFICE REACHES AGREEMENT WITH FIVE SELF-DEFENSE SCHOOLS

Maryland Attorney General J. Joseph Curran, Jr. announced today that his Consumer Protection Division has entered into Consent Orders with five self-defense schools charged with failing to renew their registration with the Division as required by Maryland’s Health Club Services law. In addition to complying with the annual registration requirement, the Consent Orders require the businesses charged to pay more than $5,675 in penalties, costs and past due fees. Each of the charged businesses have now complied with the registration requirement.

The businesses that were charged and have settled are:

• Arnold Mitchell’s Karate Academy, Inc. of Baltimore, was charged with failing to register for registration years 2004-2005 and 2005-2006, and is required to pay $1,000 in registration fees, costs and consumer education.

• Bethesda Martial Arts Academy, Inc. of Bethesda, was charged with failing to register for registration year 2005-2006 despite previous settlements with the Division, and is required to pay $1,450 in registration fees, costs and civil penalties.

• Dawson Enterprises, Inc. of Columbia, was charged with failing to register for registration years 2003-2004, 2004-2005, and 2005-2006, and is required to pay $1,225 in registration fees, costs and civil penalties.

• Mayeday Enterprises, LLC, of Potomac, was charged with failing to register for registration years 2004-2005 and 2005-2006, and is required to pay $1,000 in registration fees, costs and civil penalties.

• Waldorf Tae Kwon Do Academy, Inc. of Waldorf, was charged with failing to register for registration years 2004-2005 and 2005-2006, and is required to pay $1,000 in registration fees, costs and civil penalties.

The Health Club Services law requires health clubs, self-defense schools, and weight loss centers to register annually with the Consumer Protection Division. If the business collects more than three months of advance payment or charges an initiation fee that exceeds $200, the business is required to post security to protect consumer payments.

“The registration and bonding requirements of this law protect consumers against losing money if the facility closes,” Curran said.

Curran urges consumers to check his Office’s Web site at www.oag.state.md.us/healthclub or call the Consumer Protection Division at 410-576-6350 before they join a health club, weight loss center or self-defense school to see if it is properly registered and bonded. Consumers may also get information about health clubs, self-defense schools or weight loss centers on the Web at www.oag.state.md.us/consumer/tip69.htm.

   

Attorney General of Maryland 1 (888) 743-0023 toll-free / TDD: (410) 576-6372
Home | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Contact Us