Banner: Maryland Attorney General J. Joseph Curran, Jr.
  Home | Protecting Consumers | Safeguarding Children | Seniors | Law Enforcement | Site Map Search
For Immediate Release
October 22, 2002
Contact: Sean Caine, 410-576-6357
Donna Duncan, State Board of Elections, 410-269-2840


Attorney General J. Joseph Curran, Jr., today reminded registered Maryland voters of the proper procedure for obtaining absentee ballot applications. State Board of Elections regulations adopted in 2000 require that an official application for absentee ballot be obtained or an informal written request be submitted, but only if the request "is not being made on a preprinted form" other than the prescribed State or federal form.

Any registered Maryland voter wishing to send an informal written request must include the voter's name, residence address, date of birth, the address to which the ballot should be mailed, the reason for absentee voting, and the voter's signature. The completed official application form or informal written request must be received at the voter's local election board by Tuesday, October 29. If it is delivered by mail or in person, it must arrive by 4:30 p.m.; if it is faxed, it must arrive before midnight. Following the deadline, an absentee ballot may be obtained only in person at the local election board office by the voter or the voter's duly designated agent.

Attorney General Curran urges Maryland voters to contact their local elections board or the State Board of Elections (phone, 410-269-2840, 800-222-8683; fax, 410-974-2019; MD Relay Service, 800-735-2258; or by visiting their web site,, to obtain an official form.

Local Election Boards

Allegany: 701 Kely Road Suite 213 Cumberland, MD 21502 301-777-5931/301-777-2430 (fax)
Anne Arundel: P.O. Box 490 Glen Burnie, MD 21060 410-222-6600/410-222-6833 (fax)
Baltimore City: 417 E. Fayette Street Room 129, Baltimore, MD 21202 410-396-5550/410-962-8747 (fax)
Baltimore County: 305 W. Chesapeake Avenue Suite 310, Towson, MD 21204 410-887-5700/410-887-5714 (fax)
Calvert: P.O. Box 798 Prince Frederick, MD 20678 410-535-2214/410-535-5009 (fax)
Caroline: 403 S. Seventh St., Ste. 247 Denton, MD 21629 410-479-8145/410-479-5736 (fax)
Carroll:l 225 N. Center St. Westminster, MD 21157 410-386-2080/410-876-3925 (fax)
Cecil: 129 E. Main St. Rm. 332 Courthouse Elkton, MD 21921 410-996-5310/410-996-5066 (fax)
Charles: P.O. Box 908 LaPlata, MD 20646 301-934-8972/301-934-6487 (fax)
Dorchester: P.O. Box 414 Cambridge, MD 21613 410-228-2560/410-228-9635 (fax)
Frederick: Winchester Hall, 12 E. Church St., Frederick, MD 21701 301-694-1005/301-631-2344 (fax)
Garrett: 203 S. Fourth St., Room 108, Courthouse Oakland, MD 21550 301-334-1962/301-334-5001 (fax)
Harford: 18 Office St., Bel Air, MD 21014 410-638-3565/410-638-3310 (fax)
Howard: 8900 Columbia 100 Parkway Columbia, MD 21045 410-313-5820/410-313-5899 (fax)
Kent: 215 Washington Ave., Chestertown, MD 21620 410-778-0038/410-778-0265 (fax)
Montgomery: P.O. Box 4333 Rockville, MD 20849 240-777-8500/240-777-8505 (fax)
Prince George's: 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Dr. County Admin. Bldg. L205
Upper Marlboro, MD 20772 301-952-3270/301-952-4889 (fax)
Queen Anne's: P.O. Box 274, County Annex Bldg., Centreville, MD 21617 410-758-0832/410-758-1119 (fax)
St. Mary's: P.O. Box 197 Leonardtown, MD 20650 301-475-4651/301-475-4956 (fax)
Somerset: P.O. Box 96 Princess Anne, MD 21853 410-651-0767/410-651-5130 (fax)
Talbot: P.O. Box 353 Easton, MD 21601 410-770-8099/410-770-8078 (fax)
Washington: 33 W. Washington St., Room 101 Hagerstown, MD 21740 240-313-2050/240-313-2051 (fax)
Wicomico: P.O. Box 4091 Salisbury, MD 21803 410-548-4830/410-548-4849 (fax)
Worcester: 100 Belt St., Snow Hill, MD 21863 410-632-1320/410-632-3031 (fax)




Attorney General of Maryland 1 (888) 743-0023 toll-free / TDD: (410) 576-6372
Home | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Contact Us